Textile Tidbits: Handmade on the Silk Road

BBC - Handmade on the Silk Road

For today’s Textile Tidbit, I recommend a short BBC programme about a handweaver in north west China, from their recent mini series ‘A Day in the Life of Three Master Craftsmen’.

The Uyghur community in north west China have been making Atlas silk for thousands of years. Mattursun Islam and his family are continuing the tradition, using a combination of handmade techniques and mechanised looms. From designing the patterns to colouring, dyeing and weaving the thread, this film follows each stage in absorbing detail. We also get an engaging glimpse into how their family and working life are closely connected. With rival companies often copying his designs, Mattursan is proud of his reputation.

Subsequent episodes in this mini series explore the lives of a wood carver and a potter.

To watch this programme online, visit the BBC Four website.

 

2 thoughts on “Textile Tidbits: Handmade on the Silk Road

  1. Agnes, I have meant to do this for ages but as they say, better late……..! I wish to thank you for your wonderful blog which keeps me in touch with a great variety of stories, exhibitions & events, tidbits, and for introducing me to textiles and techniques from regions out side my area of interest, Javanese batik.

    • You’re very welcome, Greg! I’m so glad you enjoy this blog. I find it just as interesting to run. It’s just a shame I can’t make it to all of the events and exhibitions that I post about in person – but I think that would be a full-time job in itself!

Leave a Reply

